fbpx
WeissAppetito_Logo

Suction+Pressure Blowing

28. March 2022

A wildflower meadow at the gateway to the "Top of Europe"

The ground-breaking ceremony for the construction of the Jungfrau Railway took place back on 27 July 1896. And 125 years later, another milestone can be recorded. The V-Cableway project now enables visitors to reach the Jungfraujoch in greater comfort, with a total time saving of 47 minutes. The construction period of no less than 908 days involved many participants, including employees of Weiss+Appetito Special Services AG.

The V-Cableway project was the subject of frequent reports last year. The centrepiece of the project is the Grindelwald Terminal – a cutting-edge station equipped with advanced technology. As well as providing the new connection to the Eiger Glacier or the Männlichen peak, it also offers a convenient parking facility for the large numbers of visitors.

The aspects of landscaping and sustainability were accorded high priority in the design of the terminal and the parking facility. This explains why the contract placed with us by Bauimpuls AG, one of our long-standing customers, involved creating a green roof that would blend attractively into the landscape. The client decided to install a wildflower meadow. As well as being beautiful to look at, the meadow's blooming herbs and flowers provide ideal "grazing" for butterflies and bees. Luckily, we were able to carry out the work in summer and autumn, when weather conditions are at their best. We were even spared from the local wind known as the "Guggiföhn", which can easily roar through the region at up to 200 km/h.

 

Our Power-Jumbo in operation …
… on an area of 10,000 m2.

 

After Bauimpuls AG had prepared and sealed the flat roofs, we were able to start pressure blowing on an area of 10,000 m2. Our team consisted of three men and the Jumbo. This special vehicle was chosen because we had to pressure blow 3,000 m3 of Ricoter potting soil and 80 m3 of gravel within a short timeframe. We needed a 140 m hose for the Jumbo's trunk to give us unimpeded access to every corner. Because of its metering unit, the Jumbo needs more space than our other vehicles, but it also makes the work more efficient. The material is fed and blown continuously using belt conveyor technology. The substrate was delivered by Lüthi Transport on 34-tonne trucks. Once every two hours, the transporters set out from Aarberg for the Bernese Oberland, and they reached us on the site about two hours later after negotiating narrow mountain roads and 180-degree bends. People occasionally had to wait for a while, but nobody minded that in such splendid surroundings.

 

Ricoter potting soil and gravel are pressure blown onto the roof.
Kurt Wälti, Construction Manager and Andreas Lysser, Project Manager Weiss+Appetito

 

Once the pressure blowing was completed, we moved on to the second step of sowing the seeds for the wildflower meadow on the roofs. Future travellers on the Eiger Express will be able to admire the wonderful new flower meadow. For 18 days, we were at the heart of the construction work in progress on the site, together with many other participating construction companies. Precise time management and good collaboration were essential in order to overcome the logistical obstacles. Loyal partners and long-standing customers gave us support here. We wish to thank Bauimpuls AG for placing this "beautiful" contract with us, and we are grateful to all the participants for their excellent collaboration.

Project data

Client
Jungfraubahnen/Grindelwald Grund, Infrastruktur AG

Our direct client
Bauimpuls AG, Roger Betschart

Project Manager
Weiss+Appetito Special Services AG, Andreas Lysser

en_USEnglish
WeissAppetito_Logo

Saugen+Blasen

Wildblumenwiese am Tor zum „Top of Europe“

Der Spatenstich zum Bau der Jungfraubahn datiert auf den 27. Juli 1896 zurück. 125 Jahre später ist ein weiterer Meilenstein zu verzeichnen. Mit dem Projekt V-Bahn wird es neu den Gästen ermöglicht, bequemer und insgesamt 47 Minuten schneller auf das Jungfraujoch zu gelangen. Ganze 908 Tage dauerte die Bauzeit mit vielen Beteiligten, unter anderem auch mit den Mitarbeitern der Weiss+Appetito Spezialdienste AG.

Über das V-Bahn-Projekt wurde im letzten Jahr häufig berichtet. Das Herzstück des Projektes ist das Grindelwald Terminal – eine moderne, mit hochstehender Technologie versehene Station. Es bildet nicht nur neu die Anbindung zum Eigergletscher oder zum Männlichen, sondern bietet auch eine bequeme Parkiermöglichkeit für die zahlreichen Gäste.

Bei der Konzeption des Terminals sowie des Parkings wurden landschaftliche und nachhaltige Aspekte stark berücksichtigt. Deshalb beinhaltete der Auftrag, den wir von unserem langjährigen Kunden Bauimpuls erhielten, die Realisierung einer Dachbegrünung, die sich schön in die Landschaft integriert. Die Bauherrschaft hat sich für das Anlegen einer Wildblumenwiese entschieden. Sie ist nicht nur schön anzusehen, sondern bietet mit ihren blühenden Kräutern und Blumen auch eine ideale Weide für Schmetterlinge und Bienen. Die Arbeiten durften wir bei besten Wetterverhältnissen im Sommer und Herbst ausführen. Wir wurden sogar vom sogenannten «Guggiföhn» – dem einheimischen Wind, der gerne mal mit bis zu 200 km/h durch die Gegend fegen kann – verschont.

 

Unser Power-Jumbo im Einsatz …
… für die 10’000m2.

 

Nachdem Bauimpuls die Flachdächer vorbereitet und abgedichtet hatte, konnten wir mit dem Beblasen der 10’000m2 beginnen. Unsere Equipe bestand aus drei Männern und dem Jumbo. Die Wahl fiel auf dieses Spezialfahrzeug, weil wir innerhalb kurzer Zeit 3’000m3 Ricoter Trogerde und 80m3 Kies blasen mussten. Damit wir alle Ecken ungehindert erreichen konnten, benötigten wir für den Rüssel einen Schlauch von 140m Länge. Wegen seines Dosiergeräts braucht der Jumbo zwar mehr Platz als unsere anderen Fahrzeuge, aber dadurch kann speditiver gearbeitet werden. Das Material wird mittels Förderbandtechnik kontinuierlich zugeführt und geblasen. Das Substrat wurde in 34-t-Lastwagen von Lüthi Transport angeliefert. Im Zwei-Stunden-Takt fuhren in Aarberg die Transporte Richtung Berner Oberland los und erreichten uns über schmale Bergstrassen und 180°-Kurven ca. zwei Stunden später auf der Baustelle. Dass hier und da mal jemand warten musste kam vor, hat aber bei dieser traumhaften Kulisse niemanden gestört.

 

Das Dach wird mit Ricoter Trogerde und Kies beblasen.
Kurt Wälti, Bauleiter und Andreas Lysser, Projektleiter Weiss+Appetito

 

Einmal fertig beblasen, konnten wir in einem zweiten Schritt die Dächer mit einer Wildblumenwiese ansäen. Bei der Fahrt mit dem Eiger-Express kann man in Zukunft die neue Blumenwiese wunderbar bestaunen. Während 18 Tagen waren wir inmitten der laufenden Bauarbeiten, zusammen mit vielen anderen beteiligten Baufirmen, vor Ort. Um die logistischen Hindernisse zu meistern, waren ein exaktes Zeitmanagement und eine gute Zusammenarbeit unerlässlich. Dabei haben uns treue Partner und langjährige Kunden unterstützt. Wir bedanken uns bei Bauimpuls für die Erteilung des schönen Auftrags und bei allen Beteiligten für das gute Mitwirken.

Projektdaten

Bauherr
Jungfraubahnen/Grindelwald Grund, Infrastruktur AG

Unser Auftraggeber
Bauimpuls AG, Roger Betschart

Projektleiter
Weiss+Appetito Spezialdienste AG, Andreas Lysser

de_DEDeutsch
WeissAppetito_Logo