fbpx
WeissAppetito_Logo

Floors+flooring

29. March 2022

20,000 m2 of modern architecture

The history of the Selmoni Group dates back to the 1920s, since when the owner-managed electrical engineering enterprise has never stopped developing. With some 600 employees, this provider of complete electrical solutions now numbers among the leading companies in its field. The various sites in the St.-Alban-Vorstadt district of Basel were no longer able to keep up with this pace of development – in terms of logistics as well as in other areas. This prompted the decision to build a new headquarters.

The ground-breaking ceremony for the new building in Münchenstein took place on 20 November 2018. The Burckhardt+ Partner architects' practice was awarded the project for the five-storey building. Two years later – since 1 January 2021 – Selmoni's employees are benefiting from an open and inspirational work environment that covers an area of 20,000 m2. The architecture of the new building now supports networking of the various departments and communication among the company's employees.

Our Construction Division in the Weiss+Appetito Group was contracted to install about 18,000 m2 of cement/synthetic resin flooring, floating/flowing screeds, designer flooring, xyolite and quartz colour flooring. In addition, we were invited to add a design element developed at the customer's request to the atrium – the building's central encounter zone. Thanks to the varied know-how our Group has acquired over many years, and with the help of our subsidiaries Prima-Sol and Pegrila, we were able to offer everything from one single source and execute the contract successfully.

Alongside our well-known coverings such as Tanarit ML-2000 cement/synthetic resin mortar flooring and Linolith xyolite flooring, we were also asked to install over 9,000 m2 of floating/flowing screed. Selmoni and the team of architects opted to install our designer flooring, stained grey with a grain finish, on an area of 4,000 m2 . Polished calcium sulphate flowing screeds of this type are increasingly used in modern architecture. They meet aesthetic and design requirements while their composition based on mineral binders gives them anti-slip properties, makes them easy to maintain and enables them to withstand wear. The designer flooring was polished multiple times after it was installed, followed by repeated oiling as the final treatment.

 

Parking garage (Photo: ®Dirk_Wetzel)
Reception area (Photo: ®Dirk_Wetzel)

 

The "crop circle" design element in the atrium was installed with cement/synthetic resin mortar that underwent a roughening process after curing. A high-grade silicate was worked in as the final treatment. A total of 26 of these exquisite islands are embedded in the designer floor to decorate the entrance and atrium areas, each separated by a slender steel ring. The installation called for high levels of craftsmanship and precision combined with vast technical know-how.

 

Atrium (Photo: ®Dirk_Wetzel)

 

Many architectural highlights were created throughout this new construction project: as well as the spacious timber-clad atrium and terraced meeting points, these include striking spiral staircases. They blend marvellously into the overall appearance of the impressive atrium, thanks in part to the synthetic resin coating we applied to the steps – stained in matching colour shades.

 

Atrium (Photo: ®Dirk_Wetzel)
Spiral staircase (Photo: ®Dirk_Wetzel)

 

The construction work required extensive experience and great effort on the part of everyone concerned. But thanks to our highly qualified employees, good communication and professional collaboration among all the participants in the project, we were able to play our part by integrating our floor coverings seamlessly into this superb construction project. We look back on the project with pride and satisfaction, and we thank Selmoni and Burckhardt+ Partner for the trust they placed in us.

Project data

Headquarters of the Selmoni Group, Münchenstein

Client
Selmoni Installation AG, Münchenstein

Architects and general planners
Burkhardt+Partner AG

Project Manager
Weiss+Appetito AG, Bernd Berger
Prima-Sol AG, Peter Iseli

Photographer
Dirk Wetzel

en_USEnglish
WeissAppetito_Logo

Böden+Beläge

20’000m2 moderne Architektur

Die Geschichte der Selmoni Gruppe geht bis in die 1920er-Jahre zurück. Seither hat sich das inhabergeführte Elektrotechnik-Unternehmen stetig entwickelt. Mit rund 600 Mitarbeitenden zählt der Gesamtanbieter von Elektrolösungen heute zu den führenden Firmen in seinem Bereich. Mit dieser Entwicklung konnten die verschiedenen Standorte in der St.-Alban-Vorstadt in Basel unter anderem auch in logistischer Hinsicht nicht mehr mithalten. Daher wurde der Bau eines neuen Hauptsitzes beschlossen.

Der Spatenstich für den Neubau in Münchenstein erfolgte am 20.November 2018. Mit dem Projekt des fünfstöckigen Gebäudes wurde das Architekturbüro Burckhardt+ Partner beauftragt. Zwei Jahre später, seit dem 1. Januar 2021, bietet sich den Mitarbeitenden von Selmoni auf rund 20’000 m2 Fläche eine offene und inspirierende Arbeitswelt. Die Architektur des Neubaus unterstützt nun die Vernetzung der verschiedenen Abteilungen und die Kommunikation untereinander.

Den Auftrag für den Einbau von rund 18’000m2 Zement-Kunstharzbelag, schwimmenden Fliessestrichen, Designboden, Steinholz- und Colorquarzbelag erhielt unsere Sparte Bau der Weiss+Appetito Gruppe. Darüber hinaus durften wir das Atrium, die zentrale Begegnungszone, mit einem auf Kundenwunsch entwickelten Designelement gestalten. Dank unserem vielseitigen und langjährigen Know-how innerhalb unserer Gruppe und mit unseren Tochterfirmen Prima-Sol und Pegrila konnten wir alles aus einer Hand anbieten und den Auftrag erfolgreich realisieren.

Neben unseren bekannten Belägen wie dem Zement-Kunstharzmörtelbelag Tanarit ML -2000 oder dem Steinholzbelag Linolith durften wir auch über 9’000m2 schwimmenden Fliessestrich verlegen. Auf 4’000m2 hat sich Selmoni mit dem Architektenteam für unseren Designfussboden – grau eingefärbt und aufs Korn geschliffen – entschieden. Solch geschliffene Calciumsulfatfliessestriche werden immer mehr in der modernen Architektur eingesetzt. Einerseits entsprechen sie den ästhetischen und gestalterischen Anforderungen, andererseits sind sie dank der Zusammensetzung aus mineralischen Bindemitteln rutschhemmend, pflegeleicht und halten dem Verschleiss stand. Der Designfussboden wurde nach dem Einbau mehrmals geschliffen und als Endbehandlung mehrmals geölt.

 

Einstellhalle (Foto: ®Dirk_Wetzel)
Empfangsbereich (Foto: ®Dirk_Wetzel)

 

Das Designelement im Atrium, der Kornkreis, wurde mit Zement-Kunstharzmörtel eingebaut, der nach der Aushärtung im Stockverfahren bearbeitet wurde. Als Endbehandlung wurde ein hochwertiges Silikat eingearbeitet. Insgesamt 26 dieser feinen Inseln zieren, eingebettet im Designboden, die Fläche im Eingangsbereich und im Atrium, jeweils getrennt durch einen feinen Stahlring. Der Einbau benötigte ein hohes Mass an handwerklichem Geschick, Präzision und sehr viel technisches Know-how.

 

Atrium (Foto: ®Dirk_Wetzel)

 

Im gesamten Neubauprojekt wurden viele architektonische Highlights realisiert: Neben dem holzverkleideten, grosszügigen Atrium und terrassenartigen Treffpunkten auch markante Wendeltreppen. Diese fügen sich wunderbar in das Gesamtbild des beeindruckenden Atriums ein. Auch dank unserer Beschichtung der Stufen mit Kunstharz – eingefärbt im passenden Farbton.

 

Atrium (Foto: ®Dirk_Wetzel)
Wendeltreppe (Foto: ®Dirk_Wetzel)

 

Der Bau erforderte von allen Beteiligten ein hohes Mass an Erfahrung und Einsatz. Aber dank unseren qualifizierten Mitarbeitern, der guten Kommunikation, sowie der professionellen Zusammenarbeit aller Projektbeteiligten, konnten wir unseren Beitrag dazu leisten, dass sich unsere Bodenbeläge nahtlos in dieses tolle Bauprojekt integrieren. Wir blicken stolz und zufrieden zurück und danken Selmoni und Burckhardt+ Partner für das uns entgegengebrachte Vertrauen.

Projektdaten

Hauptsitz Selmoni Gruppe, Münchenstein

Bauherr
Selmoni Installation AG, Münchenstein

Architekten und Generalplaner
Burkhardt+Partner AG

Projektleiter
Weiss+Appetito AG, Bernd Berger
Prima-Sol AG, Peter Iseli

Fotograf
Dirk Wetzel

de_DEDeutsch
WeissAppetito_Logo