fbpx
WeissAppetito_Logo

Technical Center

15. March 2022

Blower SEM 300 – the new way to convey animal feed

The Ramseier family operate their farm in the municipality of Eggiwil in the Emmental Valley. Several years ago, they decided to raise chickens according to organic guidelines. This meant they were breaking new ground as a producer of organically fattened chickens. An interesting new business line – but one that also presented challenges.

The Ramseier family has six chicken-fattening pens. Distributing over 70 tonnes of feed each year was bound to be a very laborious manual job: even with two people working, each feed took half an hour. Urs Ramseier, the operations manager at the farm, believed that the feeding process could be optimised. He is a farmer with an innovative mindset, so he turned to the Weiss+Appetito Group for support. When he phoned the Suction+Pressure Blowing business unit, a discussion quickly established that a vacuum vehicle would not be the right solution. A good example of cross-divisional thinking: Urs Ramseier was then passed on to the Special Vehicle Construction experts at Weiss+Appetito SEM AG.

From the original idea to the machine
There are many cases where a standard machine cannot deliver optimum performance for the intended purpose. Weiss+Appetito SEM AG responds by including individual solutions in its offering. Our Special Vehicle Construction Division headed by Simon Johner is responsible for these services. He and his team are always very happy to respond to individual requests, and they take on a vast range of different assignments. Following an in-depth discussion with Mr Ramseier, ideas for optimising the feeding process were developed. The solution would be a machine that could convey the feed from a hopper into the feed troughs with no need to move the feed hopper into the pens every time. The hopper was to remain in position outside. Other points also required consideration: noise emissions had to be kept as low as possible and dust emissions had to be limited to the minimum.

Requirements and restrictions – but they presented no problems for Simon Johner and his team. They developed a unique system that will make it much easier to feed the birds from now on. Its name: the Pneumatic Feed Conveyor. This novel machine consists of a feed tank that protrudes into the rotary valve. The rotary valve meters the feed to the side channel blower, which uses the injector principle to convey the feed through a hose to the hand-guided blow-out nozzle. The centrepiece of the system is the specially developed blow-out box that was produced entirely with our company's own 3D printer. Thanks to this new system, the feed troughs can now be filled mechanically with virtually no dust emissions. After less than half a year, we were able to hand the newly developed machine over to its proud owner – ready to operate for the first time. We'd like to thank the Ramseier family for this exciting contract and we wish them all the best.

 

Work in progress
The first use
The machine is handed over.
Project data

Project Manager
Weiss+Appetito SEM AG, Simon Johner

en_USEnglish
WeissAppetito_Logo

WeissAppetito_Logo

Technik-Center

15. März 2022

Blower SEM 300 – die neue Art der Futterförderung

In der Gemeinde Eggiwil im Emmental führt die Familie Ramseier ihren Bauernhof. Vor einigen Jahren haben sie sich für die Haltung von Poulets nach Biorichtlinien entschieden und somit als Produzent für Bio-Pouletmast neue Wege eingeschlagen. Ein interessanter neuer Betriebszweig, der aber auch Herausforderungen mit sich brachte.

Die Familie Ramseier besitzt sechs Poulet- Mast-Ställe. Die Verteilung von mehr als 70 Tonnen Futter im Jahr konnte nur sehr aufwendig und manuell durchgeführt werden, wobei eine Fütterung zu zweit eine halbe Stunde dauerte. Urs Ramseier, der Betriebsleiter des Hofes, fand, dass der Fütterungsprozess doch optimiert werden könnte. Der innovativ denkende Landwirt bat deshalb die Weiss+Appetito Gruppe um Unterstützung. Beim telefonischen Kontakt mit der Geschäftseinheit Saugen + Blasen stellte man schnell fest, dass ein Vaccum-Fahrzeug nicht die richtige Lösung sein würde. Mit spartenübergreifendem Denken wurde er an die Weiss+Appetito SEM AG mit ihrem Spezialmaschinenbau weiterempfohlen.

Von der Idee bis zur Maschine
In vielen Fällen kann eine Standardmaschine nicht die optimale Leistung für den vorgesehenen Zweck erbringen. Deshalb werden bei der Weiss+Appetito SEM AG auch individuelle Lösungen angeboten. Dafür ist der Bereich von Simon Johner, Leiter Spezialfahrzeugbau, zuständig. Er und seine Mitarbeiter gehen mit viel Freude auf Individualwünsche ein und übernehmen die unterschiedlichsten Aufträge. Nach einem ausführlichen Gespräch mit Herrn Ramseier wurden Ideen entworfen, wie der Fütterungsprozess optimiert werden könnte. Es sollte eine Maschine werden, die das Futter aus einem Behälter in die Futtertröge befördern kann, ohne dabei den Futterbehälter jedes Mal in die Ställe bewegen zu müssen. Der Behälter sollte draussen stehen bleiben. Darüber hinaus galt es zu berücksichtigen, die Lärmemissionen möglichst tief zu halten sowie die Staubemissionen auf ein Minimum zu beschränken.

Anforderungen und Einschränkungen – aber für Simon Johner und sein Team kein Problem. Sie entwickelten ein einzigartiges System, das die zukünftige Fütterung der Tiere um einiges vereinfachen wird, die «Pneumatische Futterförderung». Die neuartige Maschine besteht aus einem Futtertank, der in die Zellradschleuse ragt. Die Zellradschleuse dosiert das Futter zum Seitenkanalverdichter, der mit dem Injektorprinzip das Futter in einem Schlauch zu dem handgeführten Ausblasstück führt. Das Herzstück stellt dabei der speziell entwickelte Ausblaskasten dar, der komplett im hauseigenen 3D-Drucker produziert wurde. Mit diesem neuen System wird nun ein nahezu staubfreies Füllen der Futtertröge maschinell ermöglicht. Nach nicht einmal einem halben Jahr konnte die neu entwickelte Maschine dem stolzen Besitzer zum ersten Einsatz übergeben werden. Wir danken der Familie Ramseier für diesen spannenden Auftrag und wünschen ihr alles Gute.

 

Work in progress
Der erste Einsatz
Übergabe der Maschine
Projektdaten

Projektleiter
Weiss+Appetito SEM AG, Simon Johner

de_DEDeutsch
WeissAppetito_Logo