fbpx
WeissAppetito_Logo

Suction+Pressure Blowing

29. March 2022

A butterfly roof for the children's centre

Employees of the Suction+Pressure Blowing Division of the Weiss+Appetito Group in Austria made every child's dream come true at St. Johann in Tirol. One of the roofs of the children's centre is no ordinary structure: it consists of a large butterfly, built from different materials including various substrates, deadwood and many different types of gravel.

This is, quite literally, a butterfly roof. The biodiversity roof bears this name not only because it will be the new home for many different species of insects and plants, but also because a huge butterfly actually spreads its wings out over the surface.

 

The newly greened roof of the children's centre at St. Johann in Tirol

 

Since March 2020, construction of a new children's centre has been under way on the land known locally as the "Ellbögengründe". The centre will comprise a crèche and pre-school that can accommodate up to 300 children. Last November, the public were invited to suggest names for this new childcare facility. The winner was "KiM" – an abbreviation for "Kids in the Middle". The first sounds of children's laughter should already be heard coming from the building in autumn 2021.

The St. Johann Children's Centre project comprises three roofs. One of them is the biodiversity roof, with an area of 450 m2. The other two roofs cover a total area of 2,800 m2. Both of these were planted with extensive roof greenery using the Bauder system. For this purpose, our team of gardeners used hydraulic hydroseeding to apply sedum shoots and seeds of herbs suitable for roofs.

 

Expanse of water
The body of the butterfly
Flowers in bloom

 

The biodiversity roof supports the environment, encourages biodiversity and brings the children closer to nature. When the plants were chosen, high priority was given to perpetually flowering species that can offer nutrition to insects throughout the year. The butterfly consists of extensive and intensive substrate, as well as river sand, bank run gravel, pea gravel and wood that the Weiss+Appetito team collected themselves from the Rhine estuary on Lake Constance. Each of the butterfly's lower wings consists of a waterhole that the children can view from a footbridge above the roof: a water hose has also been installed so they can fill the hole themselves.

Familiarising children with nature was an important aspect in the planning and implementation of the project. For this reason, a local apiarist will also set up a bee colony on the roof in spring 2021 to give the children insights into the amazing, unknown world of bees.

Our Tyrol team used the new Hornet 13 to install the three roofs of the children's centre. Willi and Tomas, our two "garden dwarves", carried out the planting work and created the butterfly's wings.

 

Project data

Client
Hermann Dagn GmbH, Kössen, Michael Schwaiger

Project Manager
Weiss+Appetito Spezialdienste GmbH, Manuel Andreatta

en_USEnglish
WeissAppetito_Logo

Saugen+Blasen

Ein Schmetterlingsdach für das Kinderzentrum

Mitarbeiter der Sparte Saugen+Blasen der Weiss+Appetito Gruppe Österreich verwirklichten in St. Johann in Tirol den Traum eines jeden Kindes. Eines der Dächer des Kinderzentrums ist kein gewöhnliches Dach, sondern besteht aus einem grossen Schmetterling, gebaut aus verschiedenen Materialien wie diversen Substraten, Totholz und verschiedensten Kiessorten.

Im wortwörtlichen Sinne handelt es sich um ein Schmetterlingsdach. Das Biodiversitätsdach heisst nicht nur so, weil es das neue Zuhause für viele verschiedene Insekten und Pflanzenarten sein wird, sondern weil tatsächlich ein grosser Schmetterling seine Flügel darauf ausbreitet.

 

Das neubegrünte Dach des Kinderzentrums St-Johann in Tirol

 

Auf den sogenannten «Ellbögengründen» entsteht seit März 2020 ein neues Kinderzentrum, bestehend aus Kinderkrippe und Kindergarten, in dem bis zu 300 Kinder betreut werden können. Im vergangenen November wurde die Bevölkerung aufgerufen, Namensvorschläge für diese neue Kinderbetreuungseinrichtung einzubringen. Die Bezeichnung «KiM» – eine Abkürzung für «Kinder im Mittelpunkt» — wurde zum Sieger gekürt.

Das Projekt Kinderzentrum St. Johann umfasst drei Dächer. Eines davon ist das 450m2 grosse Biodiversitätsdach. Die beiden anderen Dächer haben eine Grösse von insgesamt 2’800m2. Diese beiden wurden mit einer extensiven Dachbegrünung System Bauder ausgeführt. Dazu wurde von unserem Gärtner-Team eine hydraulische Nassansaat mit Sedum-Sprossen und Dachkräutersamen aufgebracht.

 

Wasserfläche
Schmetterlingskörper
Es blüht.

 

Das Biodiversitätsdach fördert die Umwelt, die Artenvielfalt und bringt den Kindern die Natur näher. Bei der Pflanzenauswahl wurde viel Wert auf immer blühende Pflanzen, die den Insekten das ganze Jahr über Nahrung bieten können, gelegt. Der Schmetterling besteht nicht nur aus Extensiv- und Intensivsubstrat, sondern auch aus Flusssand, Bankkies, Rundkies und Holz, welches das Team von Weiss+Appetito selbst an der Rheinmündung am Bodensee gesammelt hat. Die unteren Flügel des Schmetterlings setzen sich aus je einer Wasserstelle zusammen, die von den Kindern von einem Steg über dem Dach aus angeschaut werden kann, und die sie auch durch einen installierten Wasserschlauch selbst befüllen dürfen.

Kindern die Natur näherzubringen bildete einen wichtigen Aspekt bei der Planung und Umsetzung des Projekts, weshalb auch ein heimischer Imker im Frühjahr 2021 ein Bienenvolk auf dem Dach aufstellen wird, um den Kinder so Einblicke in die unbekannte und erstaunliche Welt der Bienen zu bieten.

Die drei Dächer des Kinderzentrums wurden von unserem Team Tirol mit dem neuen Hornet 13 ausgeführt. Unsere zwei Gartenzwerge Willi und Tomas erledigten die Bepflanzung und die Gestaltung der Schmetterlingsflügel.

 

Projektdaten

Bauherr
Hermann Dagn GmbH, Kössen, Michael Schwaiger

Projektleiter
Weiss+Appetito Spezialdienste GmbH, Manuel Andreatta

de_DEDeutsch
WeissAppetito_Logo