fbpx
WeissAppetito_Logo

Building reconstruction

1. January 2022

Earthquake resistance

Earthquakes occur more often in Switzerland that one may think. But the people living in the affected areas notice only a few of these quakes. Thanks to the dense and highly sensitive network of seismographs to measure earthquakes in Switzerland, even the smallest quakes can be recorded and assessed at most locations in Switzerland.

Slight and moderate earthquakes are noticed by only a few persons outside, but by many people inside buildings. Some people are rudely awakened, crockery and windows rattle, or small objects are moved around. Cracks appear in the walls or plaster of buildings, and loose tiles can fall from the roof. It should be remembered that even minor damage to buildings can give rise to considerable costs.

Vaccines have been manufactured in Thörishaus since the beginning of the 1950s. Today, around two million doses of vaccine are manufactured here every year and Emergent BioSolutions is one of the biggest manufacturers of vaccines against infectious diseases in the world. The vaccine manufacturer is aware of the risk of earthquakes in Switzerland and therefore instructed its long-standing partner Weiss+Appetito AG to strengthen the four basic supports with concrete walls as part of the conversion of "Building 76". This improves the load-bearing capacity and gives the building better protection against earthquakes.

 

Reinforcement steel

 

Around 1,000 bores were needed to attach the 5.3 tonnes of reinforcing steel in six stages. The formwork was filled with self-compacting cement pumped from a silo. Care had to be taken that the resulting concrete pressure did not damage the external façade as the concrete slabs were installed from floor to ceiling in the whole building. The entire project was realised on the inside of the existing façade. The project could be successfully completed and handed over after two months.

 

Inside
Outside
Project data

Emergent Biosolutions Berna GmbH

en_USEnglish
WeissAppetito_Logo

WeissAppetito_Logo

Bausanierungen

1. Januar 2022

Erdbebenverstärkung

Dass in der Schweiz die Erde bebt kommt häufiger vor als man denkt. Aber nur wenige dieser Beben sind für die Bevölkerung der betroffenen Gebiete spürbar. Dank des dichten und hochempfindlichen Erdbebenmessnetzes der Schweiz können an den meisten Orten in der Schweiz bereits kleinste Beben erfasst und ausgewertet werden.

Leichte und moderate Erdbeben werden im Freien von wenigen, in Gebäuden aber von vielen Personen wahrgenommen. Manche Menschen werden aus dem Schlaf gerissen, Geschirr und Fenster klirren oder kleine Gegenstände werden verschoben. Risse im Mauerwerk von Gebäuden oder im Verputz entstehen, und lose Dachziegel können herunterstürzen. Nicht zu unterschätzen ist, dass bereits kleinere Gebäudeschäden erhebliche Kosten verursachen können.

Schon seit den 1950er Jahren werden in Thörishaus Vakzine hergestellt. Heute werden an diesem Standort rund zwei Millionen Impfdosen jährlich produziert und die Emergent BioSolutions gehört zu den grössten Herstellern von Impfstoffen gegen Infektionskrankheiten weltweit. Dem Impfstoffhersteller ist das Erdbeben-Risiko in der Schweiz bewusst und hat deshalb die Weiss+Appetito AG als langjähriger Partner damit beauftragt, im Zusammenhang mit der Umnutzung des «Bau 76», die vier Grundstützen durch Betonwände zu erweitern. Die Tragfähigkeit wird dadurch erhöht und das Gebäude ist gegen Erdbeben besser geschützt.

 

Armierungsstahl

 

Zirka 1000 Bohrungen waren nötig um die 5.3 Tonnen Armierungsstahl in sechs Etappen anzubringen. Mit selbstverdichtendem Pumpbeton ab Silo wurde die Schalung aufgegossen. Dabei musste sichergestellt werden, dass der erzeugte Betondruck die Aussenfassade nicht beschädigt, denn die Betonscheiben wurden im ganzen Gebäude vom Boden bis zur Decke eingezogen. Das Ganze wurde an der Innenseite der bestehenden Fassade realisiert. Nach zwei Monaten konnte das Projekt abgeschlossen und erfolgreich übergeben werden.

 

Innen
Aussen
Projektdaten

Emergent Biosolutions Berna GmbH

de_DEDeutsch
WeissAppetito_Logo