fbpx
WeissAppetito_Logo

Conduit construction

29. March 2022

A spectacular performance: from production and transport through to integration

Gas pipelines need to be repaired or renewed from time to time so that they continue to comply with the standards set by the supervisory authority (the Swiss Federal Pipelines Inspectorate (FPI)). The existing Grosse Moos station in the Seeland region reached this point in 2021. The installation was renewed and relocated by a few metres.

For this purpose, GVM (Gasverbund Mittelland, the regional gas supplier for the Mittelland region) awarded Josef Muff AG the contract to manufacture and install a new valve station that connects two pipelines (DN 400 and DN 200). The production process was carried out on site at Josef Muff AG. The individual components were welded together with accuracy down to the last millimetre and, at the end of the process, the finished product was surface treated, pressure tested and insulated. After one and a half months, on the agreed date, the ready-to-operate station was able to leave the workshop on a special transporter.

Meanwhile, the preparatory work was under way at Grosse Moos. The construction pit was completed and the existing pipelines were exposed. This preparatory work proved to be somewhat more complex than planned. The flooding in summer 2021 led to several complications. Lake Neuchâtel, not far from the construction site, broke its banks and caused flooding in many regions. It was also a case of "land under water" on Josef Muff AG's construction site. But thanks to a clear drainage concept combined with strict nature conservation measures, the site was dried out again in relatively little time and work was resumed.

The valve station, measuring 10×3.6×3.2 metres and weighing 5.5 tonnes, had to be lifted into the pit by a crane once it had arrived at the construction site. Precise working was also essential here because the valve station could no longer be moved once it was unloaded.

 

Delivery of the valve station
The valve station is lifted into the construction pit.

 

One important requirement was to carry out the network renewal without interrupting the gas supply. For this purpose, a temporary bypass consisting of two stopple T-pieces and a bypass pipe had to be installed until the new station could be commissioned. The stopple T-pieces were supplied and welded into position by T. D. Williamson (TDW), and then JMAG prepared the bypass pipe. Only a few companies in the whole of Europe can manufacture a bypass of this sort. T. D. Williamson is a Belgian company that specialises in gas and oil pipeline construction.

 

Welding work
Welding work

 

The last and most sensitive phase was the "tie-in" or integration. This involved drilling the pressurised gas pipe and inserting the stopples, while operation was maintained temporarily via the bypass pipe (DN 300). Following various rounds of tests and approval from the FPI, the existing pipeline could finally be cut and the new valve station was integrated into the section. After four guarantee seams had been welded and the ultrasound and X-ray inspections had been passed, the points were insulated and the new valve station could be commissioned.

Josef Muff AG thanks all parties involved for collaborating so well to execute the project smoothly and for their trust.

 

Project data

Client
GVM Gasverbund Mittelland AG, Anke Wölflinger

Construction management
B+S AG, Pascal Hagmann, Adrian Wasem

Project Manager
Josef Muff AG, Markus Hartmann

en_USEnglish
WeissAppetito_Logo

Rohrleitungsbau

Grosses Kino von Fertigung, Transport, bis zur Einbindung

Von Zeit zu Zeit müssen Gasleitungen repariert oder erneuert werden, damit sie weiterhin den Normen der Aufsichtsbehörde (ERI – Eidgenössisches Rohrleitungsinspektorat) entsprechen. Bei der bestehenden Station im Grossen Moos, im Seeland, war es in 2021 soweit. Die Anlage wurde erneuert und um einige Meter versetzt.

Aus diesem Grund erhielt die Josef Muff AG vom GVM (Gasverbund Mittelland) den Auftrag, eine neue Schieberstation anzufertigen, die zwei Leitungen (DN 400 und DN 200) miteinander verbindet, und diese einzubauen. Der Fertigungsprozess erfolgte vor Ort bei der Josef Muff AG. Die Einzelteile wurden millimetergenau zusammengeschweisst und das fertige Produkt zum Schluss oberflächenbehandelt, druckgeprüft und isoliert. Nach 1.5 Monaten konnte die fixfertige Station am vereinbarten Tag per Spezialtransport die Werkstatt verlassen.

In der Zwischenzeit liefen im Grossen Moos die Vorarbeiten. Die Baugrube wurde fertiggestellt und die bestehenden Leitungen freigelegt. Diese Vorbereitungen verliefen etwas aufwändiger als geplant. Das Hochwasser vom Sommer 2021 hat zu einigen Komplikationen geführt. Der Neuenburgersee, unweit von der Baustelle, ist über die Ufer getreten und hat viele Regionen überschwemmt. «Land unter» hiess es auch auf der Baustelle der Josef Muff AG. Mit einem klaren Entwässerungskonzept, begleitet von strengen Naturschutzmassnahmen, konnte die Baustelle aber relativ rasch wieder trockengelegt und die Arbeiten wiederaufgenommen werden.

Die 10×3.6×3.2 m grosse und 5.5 t schwere Schieberstation musste nach Ankunft auf der Baustelle mit einem Kran in die Baugrube gehoben werden. Auch hier war ein präzises Arbeiten unabdingbar. Denn einmal abgeladen, konnte die Schieberstation nicht mehr bewegt werden.

 

Anlieferung der Schieberstation
Die Schieberstation wird in die Baugrube gehoben.

 

Eine wichtige Anforderung war, die Netzwerkerneuerung ohne Unterbruch der Gasversorgung vorzunehmen. Dafür musste ein temporärer Bypass, bestehend aus zwei Stoppel-T und einer Bypassleitung, eingebaut werden, bis die neue Station in Betrieb genommen werden konnte. Die Stoppel-T wurde von TDW angeliefert und angeschweisst, worauf JMAG die Bypassleitung angefertigt hat. Es gibt europaweit nicht viele Firmen, die einen solchen Bypass herstellen können. TDW – T. D. Williamson – ist ein belgisches, im Rohrleitungsbau auf Gas- und Ölleitungen spezialisiertes Unternehmen.

 

Schweissarbeiten
Schweissarbeiten

 

In der letzten und heikelsten Phase erfolgte schlussendlich die Einbindung. Dafür wurde die unter Druck stehende Gasleitung angebohrt und die Stoppel eingefahren, während der Betrieb temporär über die Bypassleitung (DN 300) erfolgte. Nach diversen Prüfgängen und Freigabe seitens ERI konnte schlussendlich die bestehende Leitung geschnitten und die neue Schieberstation in den Abschnitt eingebunden werden. Nach vier Garantienähten und bestandenen Ultraschall- und Röntgenprüfungen wurden die Stellen isoliert und die neue Schieberstation konnte in Betrieb genommen werden.

Die Josef Muff AG bedankt sich bei allen Beteiligten für die gute und reibungslose Zusammenarbeit und das Vertrauen.

 

Projektdaten

Bauherr
GVM Gasverbund Mittelland AG, Anke Wölflinger

Bauleitung
B+S AG, Pascal Hagmann, Adrian Wasem

Projektleiter
Josef Muff AG, Markus Hartmann

de_DEDeutsch
WeissAppetito_Logo