fbpx
WeissAppetito_Logo

Conduit construction

20. March 2022

Installed on the lake bed and bolted together at a depth of 60 metres

Lake Constance is Europe's largest reservoir of drinking water, with a volume of around 50 billion cubic metres. Some regions in Switzerland also benefit from the excellent quality of this water. They include the commune of Kesswil in the canton of Thurgau, where the lakewater hydropower plant operated by Regio Energie Amriswil (REA) has supplied the region with drinking water since 1952. To guarantee the supply for the future, it was necessary to increase capacity by installing two new catchment pipes in Lake Constance. Josef Muff AG was invited to carry out the entire pipe construction work as a sub-contractor to Willy Stäubli AG.

The two new pipes have lengths of 1.38 and 1.44 km. The new cross section is 600 mm (DN 600). The individual 16 m sections were delivered to the welding site in Güttingen on Lake Constance and prepared there. When choosing the material, the client opted for steel pipes with an inner epoxy coating and an outer polyethylene (PE) coating. The coating should protect the pipes against damage and corrosion.

The individual sections were assembled into two 512 m pipe strings for the directional bores and various other strings with lengths of up to 64 m. These are equipped with flanges and elbows on both sides so the pipeline matches the profile of the lake bed. All of these components were prepared, welded together and treated on the welding site by JMAG. After this, they were transported to the shore by Willy Stäubli AG, immersed in the water and then placed in position and bolted together at depths of up to about 60 m by divers specially trained for this work.

The pipes were installed at the Kesswil lakewater hydropower plant operated by Regio Energie Amriswil (REA) on the shore of Lake Constance using a trenchless pipe-laying method so as not to damage the valuable shore zone. (Directional boring from the shore; about the first 500 metres of steel pipe were pulled back from the lake.) To prepare the directional bores, a construction pit had to be dug before the pullback phase. After immersion, the two 512 m single strings were transported to the installation location on pontoons, lowered near the borehole prepared for them, and then drawn into the borehole under water by a pullback device. At the lakeside end, the other individual strings with lengths of up to 64 m were bolted together using flanged connections.

 

The individual sections are prepared …
… and welded together.

 

Onshore storage facility
The new pipeline prior to immersion

 

The connecting pipes running from the directional bores into the new operational building were dimensioned in advance by JMAG with the help of a 3D scanner. This meant that the pipe fittings could be prefabricated in the workshop so they only had to be bolted together on site – thus saving considerable time.

Not only the logistics on the ground but also the weather conditions presented major challenges. For example, the pipe could only be pulled back when the lake was calm. Wind and waves prevented work. Precise coordination of the participating companies was therefore essential, and they also had to be flexible. However, the collaboration among the specialists was an outstanding success. Josef Muff AG can look back on a successful project and is grateful for this exciting commission.

 

Quagga mussels

Quagga mussels actually originate from the Black Sea region, but were also proven to be present in Switzerland in 2015. Since then, they have proliferated rapidly, pose a threat to the entire ecosystem and are inflicting damage on drinking water supply systems. Quagga mussels have also become established in the depths of Lake Constance. Although the new catchment pipes were installed at a considerable depth (60 m), it is nevertheless necessary to perform annual cleaning (known as pigging) to remove the stubborn mussels from the pipe walls at regular intervals.

Project data

Client
Regio Energie Amriswil (REA), Daniel Bill

Hydraulic construction: Willy Stäubli Ing. AG, Samuel Jucker

Project Manager
Josef Muff AG, Claudio Hosang

en_USEnglish
WeissAppetito_Logo

fbpx
WeissAppetito_Logo

Rohrleitungsbau

20. März 2022

In 60 Metern Tiefe am Seeboden verlegt und verschraubt

Mit etwa 50 Milliarden Kubikmetern ist der Bodensee der grösste Trinkwasserspeicher Europas. Auch in der Schweiz profitieren Gebiete von der ausgezeichneten Wasserqualität. Unter anderem die Gemeinde Kesswil im Kanton Thurgau, wo seit 1952 das Seewasserkraftwerk der Region Energie Amriswil (REA) die Region mit Trinkwasser versorgt. Um auch in der Zukunft die Versorgung sicherstellen zu können, musste die Kapazität erhöht werden, indem zwei neue Fassungsleitungen in den Bodensee verlegt wurden. Die Josef Muff AG durfte als Subunternehmer der Willy Stäubli Ing. AG den gesamten Leitungsbau ausführen.

Die zwei neuen Leitungen haben eine Länge von 1.38 bzw. 1.44 km. Der neue Leistungsquerschnitt beträgt 600 mm (DN 600). Auf dem Rohrschweissplatz in Güttingen am Bodensee wurden die 16 m langen Einzelteile angeliefert und vorbereitet. Der Bauherr entschied sich bei der Auswahl des Materials für Stahlrohre mit einer Innen- (Epoxi) und Aussenbeschichtung (PE). Die Beschichtung soll die Rohre vor Beschädigungen und Korrosion schützen.

Aus den Einzelteilen entstanden je zwei 512m lange Rohrstränge für die Spülbohrungen sowie diverse weitere bis zu 64 m lange Stränge. Diese sind beidseitig mit Flanschen und Bögen ausgestattet, damit die Rohrleitung dem Seegrundprofil entspricht. Dies alles wurde auf dem Schweissplatz durch die JMAG vorbereitet, zusammengeschweisst und behandelt. Danach wurden sie durch die Firma Willy Stäubli AG ans Ufer transportiert, eingewassert und mit speziell dafür ausgebildeten Tauchern in bis zu zirka 60m Tiefe am Seeboden verlegt und zusammengeschraubt.

Die Leitungen wurden beim Seewasserwerk Kesswil der Regio Energie Amriswil (REA) am Ufer des Bodensees in einem grabenlosen Leitungseinbau verlegt, um die wertvolle Uferzone nicht zu beschädigen. (Spülbohrung vom Ufer aus und Einzug der Stahlleitung vom See her auf den ersten zirka 500m.) Zur Vorbereitung der Spülborungen musste vor dem Einzug eine Baugrube erstellt werden. Nach dem Einwassern wurden die zwei 512m langen Einzelstränge mit Pontons zum Verlegeort befördert, bei dem dafür vorbereiteten Bohrloch abgesenkt und mittels Einzugvorrichtung unter Wasser in die Bohrung eingezogen. Am seeseitigen Ende wurden die weiteren bis zu 64m langen Einzelstränge per Flanschenverbindung zusammengeschraubt.

 

Die Einzelteile werden vorbereitet …
… und zusammengeschweisst.

 

Lagerplatz am Ufer
Die neue Rohrleitung vor dem Einwassern

 

Die Verbindungsleitungen von den Spülbohrungen bis ins neue Betriebsgebäude wurden im Vorfeld durch die JMAG mit dem 3D-Scanner ausgemessen, so dass die Rohrformstücke in der Werkstatt vorfabriziert werden konnten und vor Ort nur noch zusammengeschraubt werden mussten, was eine erhebliche Zeitersparnis bedeutete.

Neben der Logistik vor Ort stellten auch die Witterungsverhältnisse eine grössere Herausforderung dar. Der Rohrleitungseinzug zum Beispiel konnte nur bei ruhigem See erfolgen. Winde und Wellen verhinderten das Arbeiten. Eine genaue Koordination der beteiligten Firmen sowie deren Flexibilität waren deshalb unabdingbar. Die Zusammenarbeit zwischen den Spezialisten klappte aber hervorragend. Die Josef Muff AG blickt auf ein erfolgreiches Projekt zurück und bedankt sich für den spannenden Auftrag.

 

Quagga Muscheln

Quagga-Muscheln stammen eigentlich aus dem Gebiet des Schwarzen Meers. Im 2015 konnten sie aber auch in der Schweiz nachgewiesen werden. Seither breiten sie sich rasant aus, bedrohen das gesamte Ökosystem und richten an Systemen der Trinkwasserversorgung Schäden an. Auch im Bodensee haben sich die Quagga-Muscheln bereits bis weit in die Tiefe angesiedelt. Die neuen Fassungsleitungen wurden zwar relativ tief (60 m) verlegt, trotzdem ist die Durchführung einer jährlichen Reinigung (sogenannte Molchung) notwendig, um die Rohrwände von den hartnäckigen Muscheln regelmässig zu befreien.

Projektdaten

Bauherr
Regio Energie Amriswil (REA), Daniel Bill

Wasserbau: Willy Stäubli Ing. AG, Samuel Jucker

Projektleiter
Josef Muff AG, Claudio Hosang

de_DEDeutsch
WeissAppetito_Logo