fbpx
WeissAppetito_Logo

we.digitize

28. March 2022

LiveCharger – the charging system for electric vehicles in Kerzers

Plenty has been going on at the Operations Centre site in Kerzers. A steel scaffold with a sheet metal roof turned into an innovation that is the only one of its kind in the world. A vision became reality.

Our charging infrastructure was installed during the year in a step-by-step process that involved various divisions of the Group. As well as the Telecommunications Division, the participants also included Weiss+Appetito SEM AG, our building refurbishment specialists, and the Floors+Flooring and Suction+Pressure Blowing Divisions who levelled the surface for the installations and did a professional job of installing the lining under the photovoltaic system on the roof.

 

The kick-off in March 2021
The installation slowly takes shape.

 

Roof structure with solar modules
The PV systems are installed.

 

The installation took place in March 2021. A total area of 35 square metres is used to produce up to 6.6 kilowatts of power. But the unique selling point of this system was installed later on, underneath the roof structure with the solar modules: the busbars, which simultaneously transport the voltage to the wallboxes and act as a fastening for the boxes, were installed at the beginning of June. They can transport up to 400 amperes of power, so they can cope with any charging demand that can be expected on site. The busbars are installed in a few easy steps and can be extended on a modular basis, so it only took one day to set them up. Shortly afterwards, on 16 June, the first function test could also be carried out.

 

Technical installation
Installing the busbar

 

Everyone lends a hand. The busbar is positioned …
… and bolted.

 

After all nine charging points had passed the test run without problems, the charging boxes were finally installed in August. We were also able to exploit one of the advantages offered by our system that is open to all types of technology: alongside three fully integrated LiveChargers manufactured by ourselves, we could also install two boxes from other manufacturers (with whom we have partially cooperated on technology in the past) as adapted versions of the LiveChargers. It is the adapter boxes that make this flexibility possible. They are placed on the busbar and – as well as an external residual current circuit breaker for protection purposes – they include a powerline module that allows the data communication required between the power meter and the charging stations to be handled wirelessly, like the charging process itself. Thanks to this, the powerline module also enables the wallboxes to ensure automated intelligent control of the charging processes in relation to one another. The entire system therefore operates as efficiently as possible at all times.

 

Only the covers for the charging sockets still have to be fitted.
3, 2, 1: ready!
The charging station in operation

 

The charging infrastructure was fully ready to operate in good time for the Weiss+Appetito Group's summer party on 27 August. Employees and guests could learn about the convincing advantages and simple operation of the system at two presentations. At the same time, this event was effectively the starting shot for regular use of the charging stations.

The easiest method of direct operation is via smartphone with the free eCarUp app. This allows users to locate the charging stations intuitively on a map and launch the charging process. Information about the costs of charging and the system's maximum power is also available. Access is still limited to employees of the Weiss+Appetito Group. In the near future, however, it is planned to allow access to the LiveChargers for everyone – including customers, partners and any other drivers of electric vehicles.

Project data

Project Manager 
Weiss+Appetito Services AG, Ralph Eschler

en_USEnglish
WeissAppetito_Logo

fbpx
WeissAppetito_Logo

we.digitize

28. März 2022

LiveCharger – das Ladesystem für Elektrofahrzeuge in Kerzers

Viel hat sich getan auf dem Gelände der Betriebszentrale in Kerzers. Aus einem Stahlgerüst mit Blechdach wurde ein in dieser Form weltweit einmaliges Innovationsobjekt. Aus einer Vision wurde Wirklichkeit.

Schritt für Schritt und zwischen verschiedenen Konzernsparten koordiniert erfolgte im Laufe des Jahres die Installation unserer Ladeinfrastruktur. Beteiligt waren neben dem Bereich Telekommunikation auch die Weiss+Appetito SEM AG wie unsere Spezialisten für Bausanierungen sowie die Bereiche Böden+Beläge und Saugen+Blasen, welche für einen ebenen Untergrund und die fachmännische Unterfütterung der Photovoltaik- Anlage auf dem Dach sorgten.

 

Der Start in März 2021
Die Anlage nimmt langsam Formen an.

 

Dachkonstruktion mit Solar-Modulen
Die PV-Anlagen werden montiert.

 

Die Installation erfolgte im März 2021. Die genutzte Fläche von insgesamt 35 Quadratmetern erzeugt bis zu 6,6 Kilowatt Leistung. Doch das Alleinstellungsmerkmal des Systems entstand dann in der Folge unterhalb der Dachkonstruktion mit den Solar-Modulen: die Stromschiene, die zugleich die Spannung zu den Wallboxen transportiert und als Befestigung für die Boxen fungiert, wurde Anfang Juni verbaut. Sie können bis zu 400 Ampere Strom transportieren und sind daher jeder vor Ort zu erwartenden Ladeleistung gewachsen. Da die Schienen sich mit wenigen Handgriffen installieren und baukastenartig erweitern lassen, konnte der Aufbau an nur einem Tag erfolgen. Kurz darauf, am 16. Juni konnte dann auch bereits der erste Funktionstest durchgeführt werden.

 

Technische Installation
Montage der Schiene

 

Alle packen mit an. Es wird montiert und …
… geschraubt.

 

Nachdem alle neun Ladepunkte problemlos den Testlauf bestanden hatten, wurden im August schliesslich die Ladeboxen installiert. Hierbei konnte einer der Vorteile, den unser technologieoffenes System bietet, genutzt werden: neben drei vollintegrierten Live-Chargern aus eigener Produktion wurden auch zwei Boxen anderer Hersteller, mit denen wir teilweise Technologiekooperationen betrieben haben, als adaptierte Version der LiveCharger verbaut. Möglich machen diese Flexibilität die Adapterboxen. Sie werden auf der Stromschiene platziert und enthalten neben einem externen FI-Schalter zur Absicherung auch ein Powerline-Modul, welches die notwendige Datenkommunikation zwischen dem Stromzähler und den Ladestationen genauso kabellos realisierbar macht, wie das Laden selbst. Dadurch ermöglicht das Powerline-Modul auch, dass die Wallboxen die Ladevorgänge untereinander automatisch intelligent steuern können. So läuft das gesamte System stets so effizient wie möglich.

 

Fehlt nur noch die Abdeckung der Ladebuchsen.
3,2,1,- bereit
Die Ladestation im Einsatz

 

Pünktlich zum Sommerfest der Weiss+Appetito Gruppe am 27. August war die Ladeinfrastruktur komplett einsatzbereit. Mitarbeiter und Gäste konnten sich bei zwei Präsentationen von den Vorteilen und der Einfachheit der Bedienung des Systems überzeugen. Dies bildete zugleich praktisch den Startschuss für die reguläre Nutzung der Ladestationen.

Die unmittelbare Bedienung erfolgt am einfachsten via Smartphone mit der kostenlosen App von eCarUp. Hier lassen sich die Ladestationen intuitiv auf einer Karte finden und der Ladeprozess starten. Ausserdem finden sich Informationen zu den Ladekosten sowie der maximalen Leistung des Systems. Noch ist der Zugriff limitiert auf Mitarbeiter der Weiss+Appetito Gruppe. Doch für die nahe Zukunft ist eingeplant, die LiveCharger für jedermann freizugeben – Kunden und Partner ebenso wie jeden anderen Fahrer eines Elektrofahrzeugs.

Projektdaten

Projektleiter 
Weiss+Appetito Services AG, Ralph Eschler

de_DEDeutsch
WeissAppetito_Logo