fbpx
WeissAppetito_Logo

Energy+Renovations

28. March 2022

New infrastructure for contemporary education

The commune of Oberwil bei Büren, which has 800 residents, is located in the Bernese Seeland region, 30 km from the city of Bern. In Oberwil, as elsewhere, school education is undergoing constant change. The school currently has a pre-school and classes 1 to 6. The Energy+Renovation team has been planning all the refurbishment work in the Oberwil school building since as long ago as 2016.

In the Middle Ages and early modern times, schooling was primarily the responsibility of the churches. Cathedral and monastery schools took on this function in Zurich, Basel, Bern, Lucerne, Lausanne and Solothurn, as well as in smaller country towns. In the 19th century, the state took over public education and the churches' influence was supplanted as time went on. Elementary schools were generally developed earlier and better in the cities and larger towns than in the countryside. But this is no longer the case today.

Back then, it was almost impossible to imagine how the educational sector would develop in the future – what modern schools and their infrastructure would look like. When educational premises are planned nowadays, thought is already given to tomorrow's schools – and this is also the approach taken at Oberwil bei Büren.

The recreation hall, entrance, toilets and upper storeys were in need of renovation. The pre-school was also rebuilt and extended so that the infrastructure would meet current planning requirements for school premises.

The pre-school used to be the school caretaker's apartment, consisting of several rooms. At a later stage, the apartment was repurposed as an ideal space for children to play and learn. But the requirements for a modern pre-school state that all the children must be within the teacher's field of vision. Together with the Education Department of the Canton of Bern, the Energy+Renovation team drew up a preliminary study in 2017 that defined the conversion measures to ensure compliance not only with today's requirements but also with the future school premises planning law.

The refurbishment, conversion and additional construction were completed in three stages during the 2019 spring, summer and autumn holidays so that normal school lessons were not disrupted. Regional companies with whom we had already collaborated were engaged to undertake all the contracted-out work on the floors, walls, windows, roof and insulation, thus ensuring that the project ran smoothly.

Teachers and children at Oberwil bei Büren can now work, play and learn in an optimal environment.

Project data

Client
Gemeinde Oberwil b. Büren

Full service general contracting, project and construction management
Weiss+Appetito AG, Peter Fritz

en_USEnglish
WeissAppetito_Logo

Energie+Renovationen

Neue Infrastruktur für zeitgemässen Unterricht

Die Gemeinde Oberwil bei Büren mit ihren 800 Einwohnern liegt im Berner Seeland, 30 km von Bern entfernt. Auch in Oberwil unterliegt das Schulwesen einem stetigen Wandel. Aktuell verfügt die Schule über einen Kindergarten sowie 1. bis 6. Klasse. Das Team der Energie+Renovationen plant schon seit 2016 sämtliche Sanierungsarbeiten im Schulhaus in Oberwil.

Im Mittelalter und in der frühen Neuzeit war das Schulwesen vor allem eine kirchliche Aufgabe. Diese Aufgabe übernahmen in Zürich, Basel, Bern, Luzern, Lausanne und Solothurn sowie in kleineren Landstädten die Dom- und Stiftschulen. Im 19. Jahrhundert hat sich der Staat der Volksbildung angenommen und der Einfl uss der Kirche wurde zunehmend verdrängt. Die Elementarschulen waren generell in den Städten und grösseren Ortschaften früher entwickelt und besser aufgebaut als auf dem Land. Doch heute ist dies nicht mehr so.

Damals konnte man kaum ahnen, wie sich das Schulwesen in der Zukunft entwickeln könnte. Wie die moderne Schule und die Infrastruktur aussehen würde. Heute wird bei der Schulraumplanung bereits an die Schule von morgen gedacht, so auch in der Gemeinde Oberwil bei Büren.

Die Pausenhalle, der Eingang sowie die Toiletten und die Geschosse mussten saniert werden. Auch der Kindergarten wurde umgebaut und erweitert, damit die Infrastruktur den heutigen Anforderungen der Schulraumplanung gerecht wird.

Früher war der Kindergarten die Wohnung des Schulhausabwarts und bestand aus mehreren Räumen. Später wurde die Wohnung umfunktioniert und als Spielund Lernparadies genutzt. Doch die Anforderungen an einen modernen Kindergarten verlangen, dass die Lehrperson alle Kinder im Blickfeld haben muss. Gemeinsam mit der Erziehungsdirektion des Kantons Bern hat das Team Energie+Renovationen 2017 eine Vorstudie erstellt, welche die Umbaumassnahmen definierte, um nicht nur den Anforderungen von heute, sondern auch dem zukünftigen Schulraumplanungsgesetz zu entsprechen.

In drei Etappen, während den Frühlings- Sommer- und Herbstferien 2019, wurden die Sanierung, der Umbau und der Anbau realisiert, damit der normale Schulunterricht nicht gestört wurde. Böden, Wände, Fenster, Dach und die Isolation – sämtliche Handwerksarbeiten wurden an die regionalen Unternehmen vergeben, mit denen ebenfalls schon zusammengearbeitet wurde, was einen reibungslosen Ablauf garantierte.

Lehrpersonen und Kinder aus Oberwil bei Büren können nun in einer optimalen Umgebung arbeiten, spielen und lernen.

Projektdaten

Bauherr
Gemeinde Oberwil b. Büren

Totalunternehmung Projekt und Bauleitung
Weiss+Appetito AG, Peter Fritz

de_DEDeutsch
WeissAppetito_Logo