fbpx
WeissAppetito_Logo

Conduit construction

17. March 2022

The search began 200 years ago

In 1821, Carl Christian Friedrich Glenck was prompted by clues to start prospecting for salt in north-western Switzerland. And he found what he was looking for near the "Red House" in Muttenz in 1836. Due to differences with the owners of land surrounding the deposit, he founded his own company – Saline Glenck, Kornmann & Co.– in 1837. But he was not the only one in search of salt. Two more saltworks were established in about 1841: the "Saline Kaiseraugst" and the "Saline Rheinfelden". In 1909, the merger of the individual saltworks based in north-western Switzerland resulted in the formation of "Schweizer Rheinsalinen AG". Finally, this company merged with Saline de Bex SA in 2014 to become "Schweizer Salinen AG". Since then, Schweizer Salinen AG has been extracting salt to meet people's many different needs.

There are basically three different types of salt: evaporated salt, sea salt and rock salt. All the varieties of salt are obtained by different methods and with the use of different equipment. Schweizer Salinen AG uses the evaporation method to obtain salt. At its Schweizerhalle, Riburg and Bex sites, Schweizer Salinen AG leaches salt out of the rock salt layers at depths of as much as 400 m by feeding in water. The concentrated salt solution flows through pipelines to the drilling field collection tank, from where it is transported to the saltworks for softening and to undergo the crystallisation process in the evaporator plant. The salt solution (brine) used to be "boiled up" in large pans. The salt obtained in this way was therefore known as "cooked" or "evaporated" salt. These traditional terms have remained in use (in German) through to modern times. The brine is stored in the newly constructed raw brine tanks in order to optimise the production processes. Raw brine is essentially water with a high content of salt. But because of this salty water, the steel tanks must have a special coating to prevent the metal from starting to decompose due to oxidation. In 2020, two new tanks with overall heights of 24 m and diameters of 14 m were built by Josef Muff AG at Schweizer Salinen AG's site in Rheinfelden. Tanks with such large dimensions cannot be manufactured in one single piece. They are welded stage by stage and assembled on site.

 

Two new raw brine tanks
Overall height: 24 m, diameter: 14 m

 

Preparation
Welding work
Welding work

 

The greatest challenges presented by this project were the tight schedule and the fact that assignments such as these are very rare. The tank construction sector is very small and there are only a few jobs of this size. A former employee of Josef Muff AG stated that he was prepared to participate by providing support for this assignment and to share his knowledge so that know-how is also safeguarded for the future. Based on the planning for the project, the execution period would be just under 23 weeks. Thanks to collaboration among all Josef Muff AG's teams, optimal use was made of the narrow time window for the installation and the completion deadline was met.

 

Team Josef Muff AG
The finished raw brine tanks

 

Another unusual feature of this contract was the high quality standard required for the coating. The inner and outer coatings were provided by BETOSAN AG, an experienced coating company that is thoroughly familiar with the behaviour of salt and its potential for tank corrosion. After consultation with the client, the optimal state-of-the-art coating was selected and applied.

 

Coating report by BETOSAN AG

The first discussion with Rapp Infra AG's engineers and construction managers made it clear that everyone spoke the same language. This meant that procedures could be optimised and technical difficulties could already be eliminated during the preliminary discussions. Thanks to BETOSAN AG's experience of tank coatings, it was possible to take an individual approach in order to meet Schweizer Salinen AG's requirements. Schweizer Salinen AG's two raw brine tanks have an unusual feature compared to other vertical tanks of this size: they do not have roofs, so they are open at the top. This made it difficult to install scaffolding for the work both inside and outside the tanks, including a special emergency roof to protect against wind and weather conditions.

When evaluating the coating product to be applied on the inside of the tanks, another unusual requirement had to be considered in addition to technical aspects such as resilience, a certificate of conformity for food contact and very thick coatings: it had to be guaranteed that the product would be workable and would dry out at a minimum temperature of 10 degrees Celsius. This hurdle was also overcome in collaboration with an international manufacturer, and work on the coating could now begin.

Like Josef Muff AG, we also had to cope with a tight timeframe. Thanks to the support of our well-trained specialist staff, we were able to apply the interior coating in a few days while temperatures were still moderate. Additional heating of the tanks meant that the lower temperatures at night were no longer an issue. All the key parameters for the coating structure and climate conditions were met, and the interior coating was ultimately handed over on schedule.

The multiple outer coating layers were applied in parallel with the preliminary work on the inner coating. The high August temperatures stretched both the staff and the coating materials to their limits. This also led to a situation where our staff were already starting work on the scaffold at five o'clock in the morning. Despite all the unusual circumstances, the work was completed professionally and safely.

Project data

Client
Schweizer Salinen AG, Pratteln

Raw brine tanks
Josef Muff AG, Sarmenstorf, Project Manager Claudio Hosang

Coating of the tanks
BETOSAN AG, Pratteln

en_USEnglish
WeissAppetito_Logo

fbpx
WeissAppetito_Logo

Rohrleitungsbau

17. März 2022

Vor 200 Jahren begann die Suche

Im Jahr 1821 beginnt Carl Christian Friedrich Glenck aufgrund von Hinweisen, in der Nordwestschweiz nach Salz zu suchen. 1836 wird er in Muttenz beim «Roten Haus» am Rhein fündig. Aufgrund von Differenzen mit Landeigentümern um das Fundloch gründet er 1837 die «Saline Glenck, Kornmann & Co.». Er war aber nicht alleine auf der Suche. Um 1841 etablieren sich des Weiteren die «Saline Kaiseraugst» und die «Saline Rheinfelden». In 1909 führte der Zusammenschluss der einzelnen in der Nordwestschweiz ansässigen Salinen zur «Schweizer Rheinsalinen AG». Schlussendlich in 2014 erfolgte der Zusammenschluss mit der Saline de Bex SA zur «Schweizer Salinen AG». Seither fördert die Schweizer Salinen AG Salz für die vielen verschiedenen Bedürfnisse der Menschen.

Prinzipiell unterscheidet man zwischen drei Arten von Salz: Siedesalz, Meersalz und Steinsalz. Alle Salzarten werden auf unterschiedliche Art und Weise und mit anderen Hilfsmitteln gewonnen. Die Schweizer Salinen nutzen für die Salzgewinnung das Siedesalz-Verfahren. Das Salz der Schweizer Salinen wird an den Standorten Schweizerhalle, Riburg und Bex aus Steinsalzschichten in Tiefen bis 400 Metern mit zugeführtem Wasser ausgelaugt. Die konzentrierte Salzlösung fliesst in Transportleitungen zum Sammeltank des Bohrfeldes und von dort zur Saline zur Enthärtung und zum Kristallisationsprozess in die Verdampferanlage. Früher wurde die Salzlösung (Sole) in grossen Pfannen eingekocht (gesotten). Das so gewonnene Salz bezeichnete man deshalb als Koch- und Siedesalz. Diese traditionellen Begriffe haben sich bis heute gehalten.  Die Sole wird in den gleichnamigen neu erstellten Rohsoletanks gelagert, um die Produktionsabläufe zu optimieren. Rohsole ist im Prinzip nichts anderes als stark salzhaltiges Wasser. Die Tanks aus Stahl müssen jedoch wegen dieses Salzwassers eine spezielle Beschichtung aufweisen, damit sich das Metall nicht durch Oxidation zu zersetzen beginnt. Zwei neue Tanks mit einer Gesamthöhe von 24 Metern und einem Durchmesser von 14 Metern wurden 2020 in Rheinfelden bei den Schweizer Salinen durch die Josef Muff AG angefertigt. Tanks mit solchen Dimensionen können nicht in einem Stück hergestellt werden. Sie werden etappenweise vor Ort geschweisst und zusammengesetzt.

 

Zwei neue Rohsoletanks
Gesamthöhe: 24m, Durchmesser: 14m

 

Vorbereiten
Schweissarbeiten
Schweissarbeiten

 

Die grössten Herausforderungen bei diesem Projekt waren das enge Terminprogramm und die Seltenheit solcher Aufträge. Die Tankbaubranche ist sehr klein, und es gibt nur wenige Aufträge in diesem Ausmass. Ein ehemaliger Mitarbeiter der Josef Muff AG hatte sich bereit erklärt, bei diesem Auftrag unterstützend mitzuwirken und sein Wissen weiterzureichen, damit das Know-how auch zukünftig gesichert ist. Die Planung des Projekts ergab eine Ausführungszeit von knapp 23 Wochen. Dank der Mithilfe aller Teams der Josef Muff AG konnte das enge Zeitfenster der Montage optimiert und der Endtermin eingehalten werden.

 

Team Josef Muff AG
Die fertigen Rohsoletanks

 

Eine weitere Besonderheit dieses Auftrags war die hohe Qualitätsanforderung an die Beschichtung. Die Innen- und Aussenbeschichtung wurde durch den erfahrenen Beschichter BETOSAN AG übernommen, der sich mit dem Verhalten von Salz und der möglichen Korrosion der Tanks bestens auskennt. Nach Rücksprache mit dem Kunden konnte die optimale Beschichtung nach aktuellem Stand der Technik gewählt und ausgeführt werden.

 

Beschichtungsbericht der BETOSAN AG

Bereits bei der ersten Besprechung mit den Ingenieuren und Bauleitern der Rapp Infra AG wurde klar, dass man die gleiche Sprache spricht. Somit konnten bereits in Vorgesprächen Abläufe optimiert und technische Schwierigkeiten eliminiert werden. Die Erfahrung der BETOSAN AG bei Tankbeschichtungen hat geholfen, individuell auf die Bedürfnisse der Schweizer Salinen AG einzugehen. Die beiden Rohsoletetanks der Schweizer Salinen AG besitzen im Vergleich zu anderen Stehtanks in dieser Grössenordnung eine Besonderheit. Sie haben kein Dach und sind dementsprechend oben offen. Somit erwies sich das Erstellen eines Arbeitsgerüstes innen wie aussen als anspruchsvoll, inklusive eines speziellen Notdachs, das zum Abhalten von Wind und Wetter diente.

Bei der Evaluierung des Beschichtungsprodukts für die Innenseite der Tanks musste neben technischen Aspekten wie Beständigkeit, Zertifikat für Lebensmittelkonformität und grosser Schichtdicken noch ein besonderes Argument berücksichtigt werden. Die Verarbeitbarkeit und die Austrocknung bei einer Minimaltemperatur von 10 Grad Celsius musste erfüllt werden. Auch diese Hürde wurde in Zusammenarbeit mit einem international tätigen Hersteller überwunden, und nun konnte es mit der Beschichtung losgehen.

Wie die Josef Muff AG mussten auch wir uns in einem engen Terminkorsett zurechtfinden. Durch die Mithilfe unseres gut ausgebildeten Fachpersonals konnten wir in wenigen Tagen und bei noch moderaten Temperaturen die Innenbeschichtung aufbringen. Die tieferen Nachttemperaturen waren durch zusätzliches Heizen der Tanks auch kein Thema mehr. Alle wichtigen Parameter von Schichtaufbau und klimatischen Bedingungen konnten erfüllt und die Innenbeschichtung schlussendlich termingerecht übergeben werden.

Die Aussenanstriche in mehreren Schichten liefen parallel zu den Vorarbeiten an der Innenbeschichtung. Die heissen Augusttemperaturen brachten Personal und Anstrichmaterial an ihre Grenzen. Somit gab es auch die Situation, dass unser Personal schon morgens um fünf Uhr auf dem Gerüst mit seiner Arbeit begann. Die Arbeiten konnten aber trotz aller besonderen Umstände fachgerecht und sicher ausgeführt werden.

Projektdaten

Bauherr
Schweizer Salinen AG, Pratteln

Rohsoletanks
Josef Muff AG, Sarmenstorf, Projektleiter Claudio Hosang

Beschichtung der Tanks
BETOSAN AG, Pratteln

de_DEDeutsch
WeissAppetito_Logo